Executive committee

Bongani Maseko (51)*


*Mr Maseko’s term expired on 30 November 2018

  • Bachelor of Science (Aviation Business Administration) (BSc)
Bongiwe Mbomvu (51)

Acting CEO

  • Bachelor of Social Science (BSocSci)
  • Bachelor of Laws (LLB)
  • Master of Laws (LLM)
  • Admitted Attorney of the High Court
Lindani Mukhudwani (36)*

Acting CFO

*Appointed 13 June 2019

  • Chartered Accountant (SA)
  • Certificate in the Theory of Accounting
  • Bachelor of Commerce Honours (Accounting)
  • Bachelor of Commerce (Financial Accounting)
Dirk Kunz (47)

Previous Acting CFO

  • Bachelor of Commerce Honours (BCom Hons)
  • Chartered Accountant (SA)
  • Executive Development Programme (EDP)
Fundiswa Sithebe (40)


  • Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA)
  • Post Graduate Diploma in Management (PDM)
Charles Shilowa (47)

Group Executive: Business Development

  • Bachelor of Science (BSc) (Chemistry)
  • Bachelor of Science (BSc) (Chemical Engineering)
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA)
  • Higher Diploma (HDip) (Tax)
  • Postgraduate Certificate (Mechanics of Project Finance)
  • Postgraduate Certificate (Mechanics of Corporate Finance)
  • Management Advancement Programme
Girish Gopal (55)

Group Executive: Technical Services and Solutions

  • Bachelor of Science (BSc) (Electrical Engineering)
  • Master of Science (MSc) (Electrical Engineering)
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA)
Badisa Matshego (42)

Group Executive: Infrastructure Asset Management

  • Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering (B.Sc Civil Eng)
  • Executive Development Programme (EDP)
Andre Vermeulen (49)

Group Executive: Airport Management

  • Bachelor of Engineering (BEng) (Mechanical Engineering)
Fulufhelo Tshikhudo (41)

Acting Group Executive: Governance and Assurance

  • Bachelor of Commerce Honours (BCom Hons)
  • Post Graduate Diploma in Accounting Science
  • Post Graduate Diploma in Risk Management
Pieter du Plessis (57)

Group Executive: Human Resources

  • Bachelor of Psychology (Industrial Psychology)
  • Master of Commerce (MCom)
Refentse Shinners (42)

Group Executive: Corporate Affairs

  • Bachelor of Technology (BTech) (Public Relations Management)
  • National Diploma (NDip) (Public Relations Management)
  • Management Development Programme (MDP) UCT
Mthoko Mncwabe (43)

Chief Information Officer

  • Bachelor of Science (BSc) (Computer Science, Mathematics)
  • Bachelor of Science (BSc Hons) Computer Science
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA)
  • Executive Development Programme (EDP)
Sithembiso Ngwenya (37)

Chief Audit Executive

  • Bachelor of Commerce Honours (BCom Hons) (Accounting)
  • Chartered Accountant (SA)
Description of the committee

The Executive Committee deals with the general management activities which form part of leading and managing Airports Company South Africa in such a way as to achieve its core outcomes while upholding all applicable legislation and regulations.

Activities and focus areas: During the year under review Exco held 14 meetings, three strategy review sessions and a one-day workshop to discuss the security vetting and classification of information policies.

  • Considered the results of the Ethics Risk Assessment and the Ethics Management Plan to address ethics risk areas.
  • Conducted quarterly assessment of financial and operational performance.
  • Reviewed the operating model to enable potential non-aeronautical revenue improvement opportunities.
  • Considered the 2019-2023 Permission decision and its impact on delivery of the organisation’s major projects.
  • Drafted and recommended the 2020-2022 Corporate Plan to the Audit and Risk Committee.
  • Reviewed and recommended to the Board the Delegated Levels of Authority Framework.
  • Conducted an evaluation of the committee’s effectiveness and drafted an action plan to address areas of improvement.
  • Considered the commercialisation and of the Airports Company South Africa Training Academy.
  • Reviewed the Company’s strategy with specific focus on the successful implementation of Vision 2025.
  • Finalised the Exco Leadership Pledge.


  • Pieter du Plessis
  • 14/14
  • Girish Gopal
  • 13/14
  • Dirk Kunz
  • 14/14
  • Bongani Maseko
  • 8/9
  • Badisa Matshego
  • 11/14
  • Bongiwe Mbomvu
  • 14/14
  • Mthoko Mncwabe
  • 10/11
  • Sithembiso Ngwenya
  • 10/14
  • Charles Shilowa
  • 13/14
  • Refentse Shinners
  • 13/14
  • Fundiswa Sithebe
  • 11/14
  • Fulufhelo Tshikhudo
  • 3/5
  • Andre Vermeulen
  • 12/14

Gender diversity: